MANA Nurse Receives State Breast Cancer Honor

BreastCare names Morgan Ludwick a Josetta Wilkins Award Recipient

  • The broadcast date for BreastCare’s Josetta Wilkins Awards is
  • SUNDAY, JUNE 28, at 12:00 p.m.

In Northwest Arkansas on KNWA, Channel 51 / 9

In Central Arkansas on KLRT, Channel 16

You can also watch it on and

Little Rock, Ark, June 19, 2015 – A Fayetteville nurse received an award this month for her patient care and education in the fight against breast cancer. Morgan Ludwick of Fayetteville was one of three honorees chosen from a statewide field of advocates to receive a Josetta Wilkins Award, given by BreastCare ( BreastCare is a breast and cervical cancer screening program administered by the Arkansas Department of Health.

Three areas of advocacy are recognized by the Josetta Wilkins Awards: individual volunteer, individual professional and organization. Ludwick received the individual professional award. The recognition program honors advocates and their work to encourage more women to be screened for breast and cervical cancer.

Because early stage cancer may be treated more successfully, early detection is critical. Regular screening mammograms and Pap tests are the best tools for finding breast and cervical cancers as early as possible. In fiscal year 2014, BreastCare provided 4,921 mammograms and 2,107 Pap tests to uninsured women in Arkansas.

Ludwick is a nurse at The Breast Center of Northwest Arkansas, a MANA clinicMorgan. She counsels, educates and encourages newly diagnosed patients about their diagnosis and treatment. One of her colleagues described her as “a one-of-a-kind nurse; with the compassion and ability to make people in bad situations feel better.” Co-workers said Ludwick focuses on patient education and takes time with patients to ensure they understand what is happening to them. Ludwick devotes time to continually educating herself about breast cancer screening and treatment trends and then takes that knowledge into the community for outreach programs.

Other Josetta Wilkins Awards honorees this year include Fighting Fancy, Little Rock, organization winner and Jane McDaniel of Jonesboro, individual winner.

The Josetta Wilkins Awards are named in honor of former state representative Dr. Josetta Wilkins, whose unyielding perseverance and passion for fighting breast cancer in Arkansas led to the passage of the Breast Cancer Control Act of 1997, legislation which ultimately created the BreastCare program. BreastCare provides breast and cervical cancer screening, diagnosis and navigation to treatment for uninsured women in Arkansas. The awards program can be viewed online at More information is available at

Please follow and like us:
Pin Share
Follow by Email