MANA 2017 Scholarship Recipients Announced

MANA Awards Three Murray T. Harris Allied Healthcare Scholarships

Photo: 2017 Murray T. Harris Allied Healthcare Scholarship recipients Kristin Jones and Alison Suman pictured with Dr. Murray Harris.

Fayetteville, AR – On July 10, The MANA Charitable Giving Committee Members Awarded three Murray T. Harris Allied Healthcare Scholarships in the amount of $1000 to students in allied healthcare programs in Washington County and Benton County. The 2017 Murray T. Harris scholarship recipients are Veronica Larios of Springdale, Alison Suman of Fayetteville and Kristin Jones of Bentonville.

Veronica Larios, LPN, accepted the 2017 Murray T. Harris Scholarship from the MANA Charitable Board. Xotchitl Baxter, Daisy Bottoms, RN; Paula Storment, Chief Financial Officer; Stephen Johnson, MD; and Murray T. Harris, MD.

Larios is pursuing a Bachelor of Science in Nursing at University of Arkansas, Fort Smith this fall while working part time as a LPN at North Hills Endoscopy Center. Suman has been accepted into the Eleanor Mann School of Nursing and works as a part-time Patient Care Assistant at MANA. Kristin Jones is currently working full time on her Associate of Applied Science Degree, in the Physical Therapy Assistant program at Northwest Arkansas Community College.

The Murray T. Harris Scholarship was established in 2007 by MANA physicians to honor Dr. Murray T. Harris, a radiologist and leader in medical community in Northwest Arkansas.

The Murray T. Harris Scholarship focuses on professions within the healthcare sector that are currently underserved, to help attract qualified candidates in these fields. The applicants must have proof of their acceptance in an allied healthcare program and live or work in Washington or Benton counties. Allied health programs include, but are not limited to radiology technology, clinical laboratory science, nursing, physical therapy and respiratory therapy. The scholarship is intended to cover books, fees and similar expenses for students in qualified educational programs.

Murray T. Harris Scholarship applications are available from February 1 through June 1 on and the Arkansas Community Foundation website